A conversation worth a listen…

Posted: April 7, 2009 in prison, general, story, teaching, The Hero's Journey Workshop
Tags: , ,

The conversation with Judy Lightfoot and seniors at the University of Washington on my local NPR station, KUOW, on working with the homeless struck a cord with me. Many of the things said about why Judy and her students work with homeless people are similar to many of my own reasons for working with prisoners. In particular, she noted that sometimes she feels selfish because she gets so much out of meeting and talking with the people she comes into contact with. I agree. Also, she noted how important it is to get out and meet people not like yourself. If I ever have kids of my own, I think this is the one piece of advice I will give them over and over.

Listen to the conversation, titled, Reaching Out to Homeless People, here: http://www.kuow.org/program.php?id=17277

Additionally, you can read a post Lightfoot wrote on the subject of working with the homeless at: http://crosscut.com/blog/crosscut/18911/

And, finally, follow Lightfoot’s blog at: http://freestylevolunteer.wordpress.com.

Comments
  1. Thank you for your post. I found your website through the WordPress search engine. I trained to teach Adult Basic Literacy and ESL with LiteracySource and look forward to working with prisoners soon (right now I’m tutoring some Eritrean refugees in ESL). Amazing how literacy reduces the rate of re-incarceration.

    It’s great to have your blog as a resource, now. I’ll be back often!

    • islandwriter says:

      Hi Judy,
      Thanks for visiting the blog. When you are up and working with prisoners please come back and post comments often (or before then if you like). I would love for this blog to become more of a “conversation”. Also, I updated your link (find it in the blog roll) so that folks can find your current website on freestyle volunteering — still one of the best ideas I’ve come across in a long time.
      Best,
      Erika

  2. Erika, good to get your message. If you could also update the link within your post – I’m no longer at Blogspot – that would be great. I’m at http://freestylevolunteer.wordpress.com.

    If you haven’t read the P-I online yet, check out today’s. In my post today (scroll down 1 screen) I quote from your blog. You might want to send the P-I an offer to link up your blog with their online editions. I think they’re looking for more writers on humanitarian and volunteer topics.

    • islandwriter says:

      Judy, the link within the post is updated. Thanks for the reminder. And THANKS! for the plug on the PI site — that’s great. I’ll look into what it takes to get connected with them. Seems like a great opportunity.

      Stay in touch!
      Erika

Leave a Reply

