The war on drugs: one look at the numbers

Posted: September 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

This was sent to me and it seemed worth sharing. Sources are listed at the bottom. It reminds me of a question asked of me at a recent talk I gave on the work at the prison. A man raised his hand and said he’d been reading some statistics recently on incarceration rates in CA and couldn’t help but wonder how drug laws were impacting the enormous number of people in prison in that state. He wondered what I thought. What I think is pretty well reflected in this graphic.

Created by: OnlineCriminalJusticeDegree.com

Failed War On Drugs

Comments
  1. Anna says:

    Thanks for this post! For a more in-depth look at the relationship between the War on Drugs and incarceration (especially of African-Americans), I recommend the book The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander. A powerful read.

Leave a Reply

